
 
STEVE SISOLAK 

Governor 
 

TERRY REYNOLDS 
Director 

 

VICTORIA CARREÓN 
Administrator 

 
PERRY FAIGIN 

Interim Deputy Administrator 
 

VACANT 
Chief Administrative Officer 

STATE OF NEVADA 
 
 
 
 
 
  

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY 
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH ADMINISTRATION 
 

 

RENO 
4600 Kietzke Lane, 

Building F-153 
Reno, NV 89502 
(775) 688-3700 

 

LAS VEGAS 
3360 West Sahara Avenue 

Suite 200 
Las Vegas, NV 89102 

(702) 486-9020 
 

June 24, 2021 

To: Nevada Businesses  

Re: Updated COVID-19 Guidance for Nevada Businesses and New OSHA COVID-19 
Healthcare Emergency Temporary Standard  

This guidance supersedes previous Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Administration (NV 
OSHA) COVID-19 guidance released on May 14, 2021. 

COVID-19 Healthcare Emergency Temporary Standard  

Federal OSHA published a new Emergency Temporary Standard (ETS) in the Federal Register on 
June 21, 2021 for health care workplaces meeting specific criteria. NV OSHA is adopting this 
standard and it will be effective in Nevada on July 1, 2021. Employers must comply with most 
provisions within 14 days and with the remaining provisions within 30 days. This document 
provides an overview of the ETS and links to resources to help businesses comply. 

Updated NV OSHA COVID-19 Guidance for Other Businesses 

This document also includes updated NV OSHA guidance for businesses not covered by the ETS. 
Declaration of Emergency Directives #024, #028, #044, and #045 require Nevada businesses to 
comply with guidelines promulgated by NV OSHA to minimize the risk of spread of COVID-19. NV 
OSHA is also responsible for enforcing all violations of its guidelines, protocols, and regulations 
promulgated pursuant to the Governor’s Directives.  

Need Safety Consultation Assistance? 
Complying with COVID-19 safety standards can be complex. The Division of Industrial Relations 
Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) offers free consultations to businesses to help 
them understand and implement the requirements in order to comply with the health and safety 
guidance and directives for all businesses, and specific requirements for each industry. SCATS can 
be reached by calling 1-877-4SAFENV. 

NV OSHA COVID-19 guidance is subject to revision. Please check back frequently for updates. 
 
If you have questions about this guidance, please call NV OSHA at 702-486-9020. 
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Overview of OSHA COVID-19 Healthcare Emergency Temporary 
Standard 

 

The text of OSHA COVID-19 Healthcare Emergency Temporary Standard (ETS) is available at: 
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910#1910_Subpart_U. 
Summaries, fact sheets, FAQs, and other resources are available at: COVID-19 Healthcare ETS | 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (osha.gov). The information below provides an 
overview of the ETS. It is important to read the full standard to ensure compliance. 

Types of Businesses Covered by the ETS 

The health care emergency temporary standard is aimed at protecting workers facing the highest 
coronavirus hazards—those working in health care settings where suspected or confirmed 
coronavirus patients are treated. This includes employees in hospitals, nursing homes, and 
assisted living facilities; emergency responders; home health care workers; and employees in 
ambulatory care settings where suspected or confirmed coronavirus patients are treated. A flow 
chart to help determine if a workplace is covered is available at: Is Your Workplace Covered by 
the ETS? 

Requirements for Covered Workplaces 

The main section of the ETS (1910.502 – Healthcare) requires employers to develop and 
implement effective COVID-19 plans. Controlling COVID-19 requires employers to use multiple 
overlapping controls in a layered approach to better protect workers. The key requirements of 
the ETS are:  

COVID-19 plan: Develop and implement a COVID-19 plan (in writing if more than 10 employees) 
that includes a designated safety coordinator with authority to ensure compliance, a workplace-
specific hazard assessment, involvement of non-managerial employees in hazard assessment and 
plan development/implementation and policies and procedures to minimize the risk of 
transmission of COVID-19 to employees.  

Patient screening and management: Limit and monitor points of entry to settings where direct 
patient care is provided; screen and triage patients, clients, and other visitors and non-
employees; and implement patient management strategies. 

Standard and Transmission-Based Precautions: Develop and implement policies and procedures 
to adhere to Standard and Transmission-Based precautions based on CDC guidelines.  

Personal protective equipment (PPE): Provide and ensure each employee wears a facemask when 
indoors and when occupying a vehicle with other people for work purposes; provide and ensure 
employees use respirators and other PPE for exposure to people with suspected or confirmed 
COVID-19, and for aerosol-generating procedures on a person with suspected or confirmed 
COVID-19.  

https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910#1910_Subpart_U
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/ets
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/ets
https://www.osha.gov/sites/default/files/publications/OSHA4125.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/sites/default/files/publications/OSHA4125.pdf
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Aerosol-generating procedures on a person with suspected or confirmed COVID-19: Limit 
employees present to only those essential; perform procedures in an airborne infection isolation 
room, if available; and clean and disinfect surfaces and equipment after the procedure is 
completed. 

Physical distancing: Keep people at least 6 feet apart when indoors. 

Physical barriers: Install cleanable or disposable solid barriers at each fixed work location in non-
patient care areas where employees are not separated from other people by at least 6 feet. 

Cleaning and disinfection: Follow standard practices for cleaning and disinfection of surfaces and 
equipment in accordance with CDC guidelines in patient care areas, resident rooms, and for 
medical devices and equipment; in all other areas, clean high-touch surfaces and equipment at 
least once a day and provide alcohol-based hand rub that is at least 60% alcohol or provide readily 
accessible handwashing facilities. 

Ventilation: Ensure that employer-owned or controlled existing HVAC systems are used in 
accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions and design specifications for the systems and 
that air filters are rated Minimum Efficiency Reporting Value (MERV) 13 or higher if the system 
allows it.  

Health screening and medical management:  

• Screen employees before each workday and shift;  
• Require each employee to promptly notify the employer when the employee is COVID-19 

positive, suspected of having COVID-19 or experiencing certain symptoms;  
• Notify certain employees within 24 hours when a person who has been in the workplace 

is COVID-19 positive; and 
• Follow requirements for removing employees from the workplace.  

Medical Removal Protection Benefits: Employers with more than 10 employees are required to 
provide medical removal protection benefits in accordance with the standard to workers who 
must isolate or quarantine. Covered employees who have coronavirus or who may be contagious 
must work remotely or otherwise be separated from other workers if possible, or be given paid 
time off up to $1400 per week. For most businesses with fewer than 500 employees, tax credits 
in the American Rescue Plan may be reimbursed through these provisions. 

Vaccination: Provide reasonable time and paid leave for vaccinations and vaccine side effects. 

Training: Ensure all employees receive training so they comprehend COVID-19 transmission, tasks 
and situations in the workplace that could result in infection, and relevant policies and 
procedures. 

Anti-Retaliation: Inform employees of their rights to the protections required by the standard 
and do not discharge or in any manner discriminate against employees for exercising their rights 
under the ETS or for engaging in actions required by the standard. 

Costs: Requirements must be implemented at no cost to employees. 
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Recordkeeping: Establish a COVID-19 log (if more than 10 employees) of all employee instances 
of COVID-19 without regard to occupational exposure and follow requirements for making 
records available to employees/representatives. 

Reporting: Report work-related COVID-19 fatalities and in-patient hospitalizations to OSHA. 

Exemptions for Vaccinated Workers: The ETS exempts fully vaccinated workers from masking, 
distancing and, barrier requirements when in well-defined areas where there is no reasonable 
expectation that any person will be present with suspected or confirmed coronavirus. 

Mini Respiratory Program 

The mini respiratory program is a component of the ETS. It applies when health care workers are 
not exposed to suspected or confirmed sources of COVID-19 but where respirator use could offer 
enhanced worker protection. It includes provisions for the safe use of respirators that can be 
implemented more quickly and easily than the more comprehensive respiratory protection 
program required by the Respiratory Protection standard (e.g., medical evaluation, fit testing). 
More information is available here: Mini Respiratory Protection Program (osha.gov)  

Effective Date 

NV OSHA is adopting the ETS identical to the language shown in the following link: 
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910#1910_Subpart_U. The ETS is 
effective in Nevada on July 1, 2021. Employers must comply with most provisions within 14 days 
and with the remaining provisions within 30 days. NV OSHA will use its enforcement discretion 
to avoid citing employers who miss a compliance deadline but are making a good faith effort to 
comply with the ETS. 

  

https://www.osha.gov/sites/default/files/publications/OSHA4121.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910#1910_Subpart_U
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NV OSHA Guidance for Businesses Not Covered by the COVID-19 
Healthcare Emergency Temporary Standard 

 

NV OSHA COVID-19 requirements will continue to evolve as state and federal guidance change. 
Current NV OSHA requirements include, but are not limited to, the following: 

Vaccination: 
• Employers should encourage employees to receive a COVID-19 vaccine and may 

implement incentives such as: 
o Providing onsite vaccination clinics,  
o Providing paid leave for employees to get vaccinated,  
o Using promotional posters/flyers to advertise locations offering COVID-19 

vaccination, and  
o Posting articles in employer communications about the importance of COVID-19 

vaccination and where to get the vaccine in the community. 
(Recommended/CDC FAQs about COVID-19 Vaccination in the Workplace: For Employers 
(cdc.gov)) 

 
Face Coverings and Personal Protective Equipment: 

• Pursuant to CDC guidance released on May 13, 2021, “fully vaccinated people no longer 
need to wear a mask or physically distance in any setting, except where required by 
federal, state, local, tribal, or territorial laws, rules, and regulations, including local 
business and workplace guidance.” See: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html  

• Private entities and organizations may have mask policies that are more restrictive than 
the CDC guidance. Employers will need to conduct a job hazard analysis to determine if 
face coverings need to be worn by vaccinated employees to prevent the spread of COVID-
19. See the Job Hazard Analysis section of this guidance for more information. 

• All employers must provide face coverings1 for unvaccinated employees and shall require 
these employees to wear the face coverings in all instances where required by emergency 
directives and associated guidance issued on the NVHealthResponse website or by 
Nevada OSHA. (Required/Ref. Declaration of Emergency Directive #021, section 12; 
Declaration of Emergency Directive #044, section 6; Declaration of Emergency Directive 
#045, section 6)  

• All employers shall require unvaccinated employees to wear a face covering1 in any space 
visited by the general public, even if no one else is present. (Required/Ref.  

 
1 Section 4 of Nevada Declaration of Emergency Directive #024 states “For the purposes of this Directive, “face 
covering” is defined as a covering that fully covers a person’s nose and mouth, including without limitation, cloth 
face masks, surgical masks, towels, scarves, and bandanas.”  For employees, Nevada OSHA does not recognize face 
shields as an alternative to or as an effective “face covering.”  The face covering must effectively control the 
breathing zone and restrain any expelled or exhaled water droplets within the covering.     

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/vaccines/toolkits/FAQs-for-Employers_EW-Toolkit_508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/vaccines/toolkits/FAQs-for-Employers_EW-Toolkit_508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
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NVHealthResponse Guidance on Directive 024: Face Coverings, Declaration of Emergency 
Directive #044, section 6; Declaration of Emergency Directive #045, section 6) 

• All employers must require unvaccinated employees to wear a face covering1 in any space 
where food is prepared or packaged, for sale, or generally distributed to others. 
(Required/Ref. NVHealthResponse Guidance on Directive 024: Face Coverings) 

• Ensure that any identified first responders in the labor force are provided and use the 
needed Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and equipment for protection from 
communicable or infectious disease.  (Required/29 CFR 1910.1030) 

• Post signage with the latest CDC mask guidance for vaccinated and unvaccinated 
employees and customers. (Recommended/Nevada Health Response Press Release 
5/13/2021) 

 
Congregation of Employees 

• Stagger break times in high-population workplaces, or provide temporary break areas 
and restrooms to avoid groups of unvaccinated workers congregating during breaks. 
Unvaccinated workers should maintain at least 6 feet of distance from others at all 
times, including on breaks. (Recommended/ Ref. Protecting Workers: Guidance on 
Mitigating and Preventing the Spread of COVID-19 in the Workplace | Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration (osha.gov)) 

Sanitation 
• Clean surfaces with products containing soap or detergent to reduce germs by removing 

contaminants and decreasing the risk of infection from surfaces. 
o When no people with confirmed or suspected COVID-19 are known to have been in a 

space, cleaning once a day is usually enough to sufficiently remove viruses that may 
be on surfaces and help maintain a healthy facility. 

• Disinfect using  U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)’s List N disinfectants to kill 
any remaining germs on surfaces, which further reduces any risk of spreading infection. 
Each business needs to evaluate if disinfection is needed in shared spaces when the 
following conditions exist: 
o High traffic area; 
o High transmission of COVID-19 in the community; 
o Low vaccination rates in the community; 
o Infrequent use of other prevention measures, such as mask-wearing (among 

unvaccinated people) and hand hygiene; and/or  
o The space is occupied by people at increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19. 

(Required/Ref. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-
facility.html)  

• If there has been a sick person or someone who tested positive for COVID-19 in your 
facility within the last 24 hours, clean and disinfect the spaces they occupied. 
(Required/Ref. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-coronavirus-covid-19
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
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https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-
facility.html) 

 
Monitoring Health Status of Employees 

• Instruct any workers who are infected, unvaccinated workers who have had close contact 
with someone who tested positive for COVID-19, and all workers with COVID-19 
symptoms to stay home from work to prevent or reduce the risk of transmission of the 
virus that causes COVID-19.  

• Ensure that absence policies are non-punitive.  
• Eliminate or revise policies that encourage workers to come to work sick or when 

unvaccinated workers have been exposed to COVID-19.  
(Recommended/ Ref. Protecting Workers: Guidance on Mitigating and Preventing the Spread 
of COVID-19 in the Workplace | Occupational Safety and Health Administration (osha.gov)) 

 
Further, any guidance, protocol, plan, or regulation that is produced by the State of Nevada shall 
be enforced by Nevada OSHA per Section 7 of Declaration of Emergency #044.  Following these 
guidelines does not constitute, and is not a substitute for, compliance with all laws and 
regulations applicable at any particular time. Individuals and businesses are responsible for 
ensuring that they comply with all laws and regulations that apply to them, including, but not 
limited to, federal and state health and safety requirements. Additionally, compliance with this 
guidance does not ensure prevention of spread of infections from COVID-19 or any other cause.    
 
COVID-19 Prevention Plan: 
Nevada OSHA considers COVID-19 a recognized hazard.  Nevada OSHA will continue to require 
all businesses to protect employees from all recognized hazards, which include COVID-19.  
Employers shall implement COVID-19 Prevention Programs in the workplace. The most effective 
programs engage workers and their union or other representatives in the program's 
development and include the following key elements: conducting a hazard assessment; 
identifying a combination of measures that limit the spread of COVID-19 in the workplace; 
adopting measures to ensure that workers who are infected or potentially infected are separated 
and sent home from the workplace, and implementing protections from retaliation for workers 
who raise COVID-19related concerns.  
 
The COVID – 19 Prevention Program will be recognized by and added to the Written Workplace 
Safety Program (WWSP) required by Nevada Revised Statutes 618.383 and Nevada 
Administrative Code 618.538 for businesses with more than 10 employees.  Businesses with 10 
or fewer employees are highly encouraged to have a written COVID – 19 Prevention Program.   
 
Job Hazard Analysis: 

• For higher-risk workplaces, such as manufacturing, meat and poultry processing, high-
volume retail and grocery, and seafood processing, a Job Hazard Analysis (JHA) should be 
completed for each task or procedure that could be affected by the hazard of COVID-19.  

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework#roles-employers-workers
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework#identification-where-how
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework#identification-combination
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework#instruct-workers
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework#instruct-workers
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework#implementing-protections
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Any JHA drafted for this purpose must be equivalent in detail and scope as identified in 
Federal OSHA publication 3071.  https://www.osha.gov/Publications/osha3071.pdf 

• A JHA developed for this purpose must identify the task being addressed, the hazard being 
addressed (spread of COVID-19), and controls to be used to address the hazard.   

• Engineering controls, administrative controls, and PPE identified and developed through 
the JHA to address the hazard must be supplied by the employer.   

• Training must be provided to staff for any policy, practice, or protocol that is used to 
address the hazard via a JHA.   

• Training must be provided to staff for any equipment, engineered process, administrative  
control, or PPE that was identified and developed through the JHA to address the social  
distancing requirements or alternative policies, practices, or protocols implemented  
when social distancing is infeasible/impractical. 

 

Additional Resources 

For further guidance, please see the following links: 

• Federal OSHA COVID – 19 Prevention Program resources-  
o https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework 
o https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/guidance/industry  

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
nCoV/index.html 

• State of Nevada- https://nvhealthresponse.nv.gov/  
• Mine Safety and Health Administration:  https://www.msha.gov/coronavirus  
• NV OSHA Information:  http://dir.nv.gov/OSHA/Home/ 

 

https://www.osha.gov/Publications/osha3071.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/guidance/industry
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html
https://nvhealthresponse.nv.gov/
https://www.msha.gov/coronavirus
http://dir.nv.gov/OSHA/Home/
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